Check your Privilege

“Check your Privilege” is a sign you will see on my office door, if you ever come for a visit! I have been thinking about this phrase even more in the past several days. I check my privilege every single day, and I really hope you do too! Just remember that “It’s a privilege to learn about racism instead of experiencing it your whole life.” – Ahmed Ali.

As a non-white person who immigrated to a dominantly white country, I have had my fair share of racism and discrimination. BUT, this is not a competition as to who has experienced the most racism or the fact that a lot of people experience racism. Yes, no one is refuting that. I get it. All lives matter, like some people have been emphasizing this hard for the last week or so. No one ever doubted or argued that all lives matter. This argument and what is happening is about a deeply rooted issue of systemic racism in our society, where for years and years, a specific group of people have been oppressed and discriminated against solely because of the colour of their skin. If you do doubt this or don’t see it as a problem, sadly, you are part of the problem.

No one should fear for their life when they go for a run or to simply go bird watching in a park. If you use your privilege as ammunition to oppress another group or another person, you are part of the problem. None of us was born hating others. We, as kids, loved playing with other kids. But as we grew older, some of us were raised to learn hate and racism. Racism is not a genetic disease for which you can take a certain type of medication and be cured of and suddenly become anti-racist. Racism is a behavioural disease. You need to dig deep and fix whatever it is that is making you hate on someone, judge them, or be violent towards or discriminate against them based on their colour of skin, country of origin, etc.

Martin Luther King Jr. once said “Hate is too big of burden to bear. I have decided to love.” For the life of me, I cannot figure out why anyone would choose hate over love. It takes so much effort to actively hate someone else and act on it.

Over the past week, I have seen a lot of different posts and have engaged in a lot of – what I hope has been educational and/or worthy – conversations and have tried to raise awareness. I am not the spokesperson for any one specific group. I am no expert in the Black culture and the pain they have gone through and continue to go through. BUT, I am a human being continuing and wanting to love others. Black Lives Matter. EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. OF. THEM. If what is happening to our Black brothers and sisters was happening to you, you the non-Black person, you would surely want others to stand with you and alongside you and ask for justice. You would want others to raise their voice when your voice has been silenced and is no longer heard. You would want to see the humanity rise. Then, if you would want this for you, why would you not want it for those who are being harassed, arrested, imprisoned, and murdered on a daily basis.

Why don’t we all extend a loving hand and accept everyone for who they are, instead of putting ourselves on a pedestal and oppressing anyone who does not match our racist views and ideals. It is not enough to not be racist. We ALL need to be anti-racist. We all need to call out the racist behaviours and speak up when a family member, friend, or even a stranger says or does something that is racist. I have quoted this poem from Sa’adi many many times in my life as it rings true every single time.

Let’s be better. Let’s do better.

So yes. Black Lives Matter. If you disagree and want to leave, by all means. I understand. But, in a way, I do hope you stay, so that we can all listen and get educated together.

Much love xox

Leave a comment