Happy Monday on a Tuesday!

If you follow my blog and are familiar with my Happy Monday posts, you may have noticed that I did not have a new post yesterday 😦 I am sorry! I had quite an early start to my day yesterday (had to wake up at 5:00 am to be at boot camp for 7:00 am). After boot camp, I had to head straight to work, and I was quite busy until I arrived home. When I got home, it was time to get our supper ready, get ready for the next day, and also head to bed at a decent time so I would be able to wake up at 5:00 am again today, AND check in with you all. So, I went through all the things I needed to do before bed and estimated how much time each would take, and how much time I realistically had to spend on each task. It turned out that I was quite short on time and would have to decide what to do next. It was at that moment that I decided to go against my will and do what would logically make sense, which was getting ready for today and heading to bed early. If I had stayed up late, I probably would have been more tired today (given that it was going to be another long day) and I would not have been able to chat with you all today either!! :O

You may be asking yourself, “what is the point of all this?” “You missed a post, why justify it?” Well, The reason I went into all that detail was to highlight a point and that’s the significance of “self-care.” We often tend to forget about ourselves and put our needs last. We skip sleep, food, rest, etc. so we can accomplish other tasks.

“Self-care is a priority and necessity – not a luxury – in the work that we do.” – Unknown  

Although, I was quite sad that I didn’t get to write anything yesterday, I was also happy that I have finally learned how to practice self-care. As you can see, sometimes, practicing self-care is more intentional and requires us to be more attentive to our needs.

“Being extremely honest with oneself is a good exercise.” – Sigmund Freud 

Every day, we need to ensure that we include self-care practices into our daily routine and take care of ourselves. It is really easy to forget about ourselves and our needs when we are too focused on other things and other people and their needs.

“Do something every day that is loving toward your body and gives you the opportunity to enjoy the sensations of your body.” – Golda Poretsky  

I hope you all save some time every day to practice self-care. Sometimes, self-care can be as simple as going to bed early (like I did last night 🙂 ), sometimes, it is about going to bed late (if that’s what you need), sometimes, drinking a hot cup of tea and a silly movie is all we need. Sometimes, a long walk in the rain is all that’s needed to freshen up our soul and body….You see? Self-care is all up to you. How you practice it depends solely on what makes you happy and satisfied. It doesn’t have to be the same as what others do. As long as your self-care practices work for you, that’s all that matters 🙂 So, take care of yourselves….take that long walk, take that relaxing bath, drink that hot cup of tea, and read that book that you have read before….all you need to do is give your mind and body the well-deserved attention that they need.

“How do you define ‘taking care of yourself’? Create a new self-care practice today. Observe your comfort level when it comes to being good to yourself. Discomfort is a wise teacher.” – Caroline Myss & Pete Occhiogrosso 

I hope you all had a fantastic Monday and Tuesday, and I hope you have a peaceful night (or day) ahead 🙂

Until next time, so long for now….

2 Replies to “Happy Monday on a Tuesday!”

Leave a Reply

