Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate…Happy Monday

It’s been quite some time since we started the Happy Monday challenge together. I feel like I have come a long way in making not just Mondays, but every single day of my life count just a little bit more. I am living more mindfully and purposefully, and I am keeping an open mind. That said, I feel like that I am still missing out on some great moments by allowing fear to take over some aspects of my life. Fear can have many faces: fear of losing a loved one, fear of failure and setbacks, fear of making mistakes, fear of loneliness, fear of poor health, etc….

‘If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment.’
– Marcus Aurelius

We have all been in situations where we have been overcome by fear. But, what do we do about it? I keep asking myself this. The answer is often simple, but acting on the answer is what takes time, courage, and determination. Sometimes, you need professional help (therapy, counselling, etc…) to battle your fears, and sometimes you need professional help as well as the support of your social network. But there are times that it is up to us to take some time for self-reflection and evaluation. This is the time to ask ourselves those existential and deep questions: “Where does my fear come from?” “How do I battle this fear?” “What do I need to change in order to make things better?” “Is it even worth my time being scared?”

‘You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.’ – Eleanor Roosevelt

What I am trying to say here….well mainly thinking and talking out loud here… is that our life moments are precious and valuable, and should not be wasted at the expense of unfounded and insignificant worries and fears. If you are afraid of something, don’t let that fear overshadow the rest of your life. Not only can you lose your battle to  your fears, you can also lose out on life itself.

Let’s face our fears together! Let’s start thinking about what scares us and what we can do about it! Life can be scary, but with all the support that is out there, all we need to do is extend our hand and someone out there will also extend a helping hand and pull us up. Hope is a beautiful thing, so let’s make more room for it in our lives.

I hope you face your fears, and are not shy to seek help if you need it.

‘Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?’ – Marianne Williamson

Happy Monday my friends. Let’s show this week what we are made of 🙂

Until next time, so long for now…

 

Leave a Reply

