Happy Monday: Where there is a will, there is a way…

Welcome to another Monday and another Happy Monday post. How have you been? Are you loving Mondays as much as I am? If not, don’t worry! Maybe we can figure out a way to make some changes πŸ™‚ Just do not give up! It takes time and motivation. I am here with you πŸ˜‰

Speaking of motivation, in order to make it to the gym this morning for 7:00 am,  due to scheduling conflicts with my partner, I had to take two buses as opposed to the usual one bus. So, instead of making excuses and talking myself into skipping the gym, I started looking for options A and B (and was willing to even think of an option C, if necessary!) to somehow make it to the gym on time. My luck, option A sufficed, but it meant waking up at 4:45 am and taking the first bus at 5:30 am. They say, “Where there is a will, there is a way,” and there was! It just took some extra motivation and planning (I went to bed super early last night πŸ˜‰ ). With the help of my amazing cats and the sound of birds singing right outside of our window, I woke up before my alarm went off. I woke up with a smile (I know! I was weirded out myself too!) and made my way to the first bus on what was hands-down one of the most beautiful and rainy mornings, and made it to the gym at 6:40 am πŸ˜€

I feel like I am pumped with an extra dose of motivation this Monday after having witnessed athletes competing in the Ottawa Race Weekend these last two days! I am humbled and astounded by everyone’s determination, motivation, and endurance. I cheered for some of my family members (and strangers! YES, strangers! I was so in the zone that I started cheering for random runners by name πŸ˜€ Some high-fived me, some nodded, some said thank you, some smiled, and some didn’t even hear me, but that didn’t stop me from admiring their dedication!) who competed this weekend, and that alone gave me another boost of energy!!

Whether I decide to run a marathon, half-marathon, 10K, or a 5K in the future, or just continue being more and more active everyday, I think I have already reached my goal. About a month ago, when I started the morning fitness classes, I was worried that I would lack motivation, but I am glad that I am proving myself wrong. What’s important is when you look in the mirror, you love what you see. Don’t get me wrong, I am not just talking about your looks and physical appearance. I am talking about your smile, your mood, your one extra push-up you couldn’t do last week, your drive for a healthier and happier psychological and physical lifestyle. That’s all that matters. I know that when I was doing the drills in front of the wall-sized mirror in class this morning, I loved what I was seeing! See what it is you are looking for and go after it. We don’t all have to be (or become) Olympians, marathoners, or professional athletes. We just have to become the best of what we can be. If you keep at it, your best will only improve.

Throughout the race weekend, I witnessed professional athletes, able-bodied individuals as well as the less-able bodied ones, young and seasoned adults, toddlers, newborns, expecting mothers, and partners hand-in-hand, all chasing the same goal. If that’s not inspiring enough, I do not know what is.

When you look in the mirror, keep reminding yourself that you are strong, capable, beautiful, motivated, and dedicated enough. Just ignore the superficial and meaningless labels of size and age. If you want to be more active, then become more active. I cheered for random people this past weekend, I am cheering for you too!!!

Oh and just on a random note, to make this awesome and rainy Monday even more exciting, my friend and colleague surprised me with this awesome handmade vintage mug this morning. She said that she saw it on the weekend and had to get it for me! I am grateful, friend πŸ™‚ Thanks for thinking of me!! I DO love cats πŸ˜‰

IMG_20170529_190751_537

Thanks for coming back to my Happy Monday challenge every week. We are in this together πŸ™‚

Till next time, so long for now…

Leave a Reply

