Happy Monday: Holiday edition

Today is Victoria Day – a public Canadian holiday – and as a result, I did not have to go to work and my regular boot camp class. But being off work doesn’t mean that I am skipping on our weekly Happy Monday challenge!! So welcome to my Happy Monday: Holiday edition post 🙂 How have you been? How is your Monday going so far? As you may remember from my previous posts, my partner and I have been busy visiting different garden centres and have begun our gardening and yard work.

We have already planted quite a few different types of vegetables and herbs, including: tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, lettuce, beans, peppers, cucumbers, basil, and chives. I will be posting photos of the garden on the blog as well as on Instagram (@elapetite) as we progress through the season 🙂

One of the most exciting parts of our long weekend was finding marigold flowers at the store! You may be asking yourself: ‘What is so special about marigolds?’ Well, let me explain 🙂 Growing up, during the spring and summer seasons, my grandfather would plant marigolds, pansies, and other flowers in his garden, so I was always used to  seeing them when I visited my grandparents’ house (and sometimes I would pick them and give them out as gifts to my family members 😀 ); so in honour and memory of my late grandfather, we bought some marigolds this weekend and have a pot of flowers in our front yard 🙂 So now, at the start and end of every day, I will get to see these beautiful flowers and have another reason to reminisce about my childhood and amazing grandparents ❤

20170520_192915

So what else made this Monday special aside from flowers and gardening? It was nothing other than this super awesome addition to our backyard. We bought a new bird feeder yesterday and all day today, we have had many birds come for a visit. It is only a matter of time now until the neighbourhood squirrels pay us a visit too and help themselves to some sunflower seeds 😀

This amazingly relaxing Monday and long weekend have been filled with smiles, blueberry waffles, kitty cuddles, and bird watching. It seems like happiness and smiles are contagious in our house, because our cats have also not been able to take their eyes off of the backyard and the birds and have been super happy that we now have more frequent visitors than we did before:D

IMG_20170522_102603_874

In this photo, you can see all three of them watching the birds outside. Clearly, E has claimed the VIP seat, while K is watching from the side and looking all graceful and motherly, and finally A‘s tail is sticking out while she is trying to establish her place in the bird watching committee – since she is the youngest and newest member 😉

All these little things made us smile today. I got to cuddle with each and every one of our fur babies and even watch a beautiful and heartwarming movie (A street cat named Bob). I will slowly be getting ready for another early morning followed by a fitness class and work and wishing you all a beautiful Monday evening.

Before I leave, I would like to share a quote that I read this morning. I hope it gives you an extra dose of inspiration and motivation on this beautiful rainy Monday as it did for me:

“Do something uncomfortable today. By stepping outside of your box, you don’t have to settle for what you are – you get to create what you want to become.”

– Howard Walstein 

Until next post and next Monday, so long for now…

 

Leave a Reply

