Spring Farmers’ Market

One of our most favourite hobbies during the spring and summer seasons is going to the local farmers’ markets. Today was the first farmers’ market of the season. We woke up early, and drove to the neighbouring town to not only officially welcome warmer temperatures, but to also welcome the start of the spring and the numerous farmers’ markets that we will be attending in the coming months πŸ™‚

Cumberland, ON, has always had some of the best farmers’ markets. All of the local farmers, vendors, craft makers, boy and girl scouts, bakers, jewellery makers, etc…come together and showcase their talent and products. We love starting our visit by grabbing our tea and coffee from the local boy and girl scouts, and going around to see what is new this season.

What I found interesting about this year’s first farmers’ market was the fact that it was held at three different venues: a community centre, a mosque, and a church. What caught my attention were the two messages displayed at the entrance of the church and on the outside wall of the mosque. It was quite reassuring that the message is always the same – regardless of who we are and what we believe in! We are all in pursuit of love and peace! If only we could enlarge these messages even more and display them at every corner for everyone to see and learn from!

IMG_20170409_073725_624

All the venues were of walking distance which allowed us to explore the neighbourhood a bit more. We had driven through Cumberland before, but this was the first time that we walked the streets and actually got to see some of the landmarks up close!

While walking through the different locations of the market, I loved seeing people of varying ages attend the market, discuss product details with the vendors, and go through the treasures that were displayed πŸ™‚ I couldn’t help but to smile and take photos (so that I could share with you πŸ˜‰ ) and love my time with my partner!

 

When leaving the market, I couldn’t help but to be reminded that there is so much to life than just our every day worries!!! It was just yesterday that I came across this quote (I still don’t know where it is from!)

“First, I was dying to finish high school and start college.

And then I was dying to finish college and start working.

Then I was dying to marry and have children.

And then I was dying for my children to grow old enough so I could go back to work.

But then I was dying to retire.

And now I am dying…

And suddenly I realized I forgot to live.”

So, I reminded myself – for the millionth time – to not just pass every day like it is a chore but to REALLY live it, and live it to the fullest – as if it were your last. πŸ™‚

We left our first farmers’ market of the season, went to a vegan restaurant – Grow Your Roots –  for lunch, and ended our sunny Saturday with a trip to the grocery store, dinner preparations, and some more family time πŸ™‚

Days like this are what life is all about: Simplicity and joyfulness!

Hope you all had a great weekend πŸ™‚

 

One Reply to “Spring Farmers’ Market”

Leave a Reply

