End of an era …

For those of you who know me personally, know that I have been working multiple jobs in the past decade or so to put myself through school and live an independent life. That being said, I would not have been able to do either of those without the help of my family.

However, the point is that this weekend, after 10 years of working for the same company, yet in different positions and locations, I finally resigned. On my way back from my last shift, I could not help but to think of all the laughs, tears, early mornings, late nights, stressful days, unexpectedly fun encounters, and so many other events that I got to experience throughout these years. All of this made for a very bittersweet ride home!

Looking back at the last 10 years, not only do I feel proud, I also feel incredibly humbled and grounded. I am proud that I powered through many years of hard work, long hours, discrimination, ignorance, dishonesty, and mediocre wages just to get to where I want to be today. I am humbled that regardless of who and what we are, no job or task is ever beneath us! We are never too good, too qualified, too important, too socially above others, or too whatever, to do something that someone else does for a living. We should all experience hard work and understand what it means to make ends meet. I also feel grounded because I got to meet many interesting people and learn something new from each and every one of them. Some lessons were easy to comprehend, while others were accompanied by sleepless nights and many head scratches – to say the least. As you can imagine, 10 years of working in the same environment albeit different locations, you are bound to come across different types of characters – some were incredibly sweet, and some could have used some honey with their toast in the mornings 😉

I am thankful for this experience. It made me believe in the value of hard work, team work, respect, honesty, genuineness, education, and open-mindedness even more. We don’t often get to our dream job right off the bat. Sometimes, there are detours that may take 10 years or even more! If you are in a job that you do not love, just see as a stepping stone to your future goal, or just have no other options but to stay in for now, please do not give up! Keep going! You are strong. Believe in yourself. It may hurt and it may hurt a lot, but keep reminding yourself this:“Tough times never last. Tough people do.” – Robert H. Schuller

Much love and respect to all the hard working and strong souls out there…

One Reply to “End of an era …”

Leave a Reply

