Faith in humanity restored!

As you may have read in my previous posts, I use public transport to commute to and from work every day. The morning journey to work allows me to unwind, read the morning paper, travel for 40 minutes in peace and silence, and enjoy my solitude while being surrounded by many other silent travellers.

One of the things that I love the most about my morning commute is the unspoken and the unofficially established sense of community amongst us fellow morning commuters. One particular instance is when, each morning, one commuter rushes to help another commuter, who is visually impaired, get off his bus, walk to the right section of the platform, and get back on his next bus. Every morning, we all watch out for him to make sure he gets dropped off at the right spot, and if he doesn’t, one of us gently approaches him and walks with him to the right section of the platform. Without exception, he thanks every morning rider and engages in further conversation.

This morning, it was my turn! I walked up to him and asked him if I could walk him up to the designated spot on the platform. He agreed. So, I did. He thanked me, and I left smiling. When I looked up, every other person who was waiting, was also smiling 🙂

With all the sadness, hate, anger, individuality, and divisiveness that is going on in the world, it’s these little things that make our days a little brighter. It’s helping someone without expecting anything in return, and acknowledging others’ acts of kindness that make us more human every day. It’s these little acts of kindness that restore my faith in humanity every single day.

Every morning, I watch out for my fellow commuter. I smile and feel a deep sense of happiness if I get to help him, but I even smile bigger and deeper when someone else beats me to it. Because, we can never be too kind. We can never help too much. We can never be too human. Happiness is a result of all these things. We create our own happiness. As Jane Austen once said, “You must be the best judge of your own happiness.”

wp-1489235834188.png
The view from the transit stop
Leave a Reply

