The International Women’s Day

I have been  extremely fortunate and honoured to  have been surrounded by many incredible human beings, including women. I greatly admire and respect my mother and sister, along with other women in my life. However, in the honour of this day and to pay my respects to a women who is no longer amongst us, I would like to give special thanks to my grandmother.

There is not a single day that goes by that I do not think of my grandmother. Calling her incredible is an absolute understatement. She was regarded as a symbol of strength, determination, love, and humanity – just to name a few. Her lessons of respect, cohesiveness, equality, love, family, and generosity were passed down to her children and her grandchildren. For her, the sky was the limit, and no dream was ever out of reach. In her mind, education was key. It did not matter if you were the student or the educator. She even went back to university at the age of 65, so that she could not only expand her knowledge of the field of social work, but to also help her clients, who mainly included women and children, more effectively.

Today and every day, I send her my love and respect, and I thank her for being such an influential figure in my life.

If there is one lesson that I have learned from my late grandmother, it’s this: We are all humans, regardless of who and what we are. We all deserve to be loved and respected. Extend a helping hand. The love you will receive in return will be priceless.

On this International Women’s Day and every day, take the time to admire and appreciate the inspiring women in your life.

Who are some of the most inspiring women in your life?  

Leave a Reply

